YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

YogaFit experience
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Yoga TeachersMessage format

radhani
Posted 2010-06-04 8:57 AM (#123328)
Subject: YogaFit experience

I started training with yogafit in 2007 because I worked with my work and school schedule and being a certified personal trainer through ACE, I received a moderate discount.
After the level 1, everyone is required to complete 8 hours of community service with a letter of verification from the people that were the recipients of the service. I didn't feel qualified to teach anyone, even for free until I took the special populations trainings and the anatomy and alignment class.

The statement about the poses being out of alignment in the manuals? The manuals did have some flaws, but the classes are taught by a knowledgeable instructors, the manuals are used as a reference. The anatomy and alignment course was developed by a physical therapist and was taught to me by that same person, as were the courses on seniors and pre/post-natal. I feel very comfortable with the safety of the yogafit poses.

The thing that distinguishes yogafit from the other styles of yoga (that were also created by people, not directly channeled from Patanjali himself), is that it aims to include everyone. The esotericism and exoticness that surrounds yoga is intimidating to a lot of western people that can benefit deeply from even the most superficial yoga practice.