YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Non-certified teachers instructing silent classes
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

pattyg
Posted 2009-12-28 11:34 AM (#120258)
Subject: Non-certified teachers instructing silent classes

Hi everyone,
This is my first time posting, but I've been following the forum for awhile!

I started practicing Bikram in early June, and I love it. In general, my local studio has been a great place to practice. However, recently I've started going to early morning classes (I've practiced almost solely in the evenings to this point). They are silent classes, and I've realized that the "instructors" are actually not Bikram certified instructors at all. The people who teach the class are students at the studio with strong practices, but they are not certified instructors.

Is this legit? I love the way I feel when I go in the mornings, and it's great to be able to clear out my schedule in the evening, but I feel like I'm not getting the same quality instruction. It seems unfair, since the cost for these classes is, of course, the same... Any feedback would be appreciated!

Top of the page Bottom of the page
freiamaya
Posted 2009-12-28 11:53 AM (#120259 - in reply to #120258)
Subject: Re: Non-certified teachers instructing silent classes

I don't know if the instructors are really "instructing" if it is a silent class. I also don't think that Bikram permits "silent classes" per se, so this might be an individual studio initiative.