YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Bikram & Ashtanga ?
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

afx
Posted 2009-10-04 12:39 PM (#118883)
Subject: Bikram & Ashtanga ?

Hi All,

New to the forum and hoping to get some advice.

Is it a bad idea to regularly do two different styles of Yoga ? Maybe I should post this in the Ashtanga forum, not sure (maybe a mod could put it there too?).

I'm relatively new to Yoga, been doing Ashtanga for about 10 months. I recently moved countries and have been to five Bikram classes so far and really like it.

However, I like Ashtanga also and it seems a shame to give it up. Is there any solid logic why I cant / shouldn't do both ? There is a good Ashtanga class nearby which I went to when I visited for a holiday.

Would be interested to hear people opinions.

thanks

Steve
Top of the page Bottom of the page
joysweat
Posted 2009-10-04 2:00 PM (#118885 - in reply to #118883)
Subject: RE: Bikram & Ashtanga ?

Do both if you enjoy both. Why wouldn't you? it's not like you're married to one practice and cheating if you engage in another.

I recently tried a "Yin" class and a "Flow" class, liked them both and can see how they'd be complementary to a Bikram practice.
Bay Guy
Posted 2009-10-04 2:11 PM (#118888 - in reply to #118885)
Subject: RE: Bikram & Ashtanga ?

Expert Yogi

There's absolutely no reason not to do both. And you can even find hybrids of the two, such as 'hot vinyasa yoga'.