YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Strange encounters with Light
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Meditation -> General MeditationMessage format

Neobrahman
Posted 2007-07-21 9:09 AM (#92097)
Subject: Strange encounters with Light

Hi everyone,
First of all i should introduce myself as I've recently joined this group. I'm a 24 year old student, and I'm a beginner in meditation. I don't have a guru, and I've never learnt meditation except from books and webpages(and unfortunately i dont have access to teachers ). Anyway, I have been meditating for about 8 months on my own, and I'd like to share some experiences that I had( and invite comments/explanations). Even though they are mere 'distractions', in my opinion, for a beginner these experiences play a crucial role in increasing the meditator's inspiration, perseverance and enthusiasm.

After about 4 months of meditation, one day, when i was in the shower, I saw four dots(like the vertices of a square) of blurry light, with my eyes closed. Then these four dots became three(forming a triangle), the three then became 2, and finally the two merged to become one small dot. This blob of light then became a little bigger and became sharper and sharper until I could 'see' it crystal clear. It was like a flame of a candle, and it seemed for about a second or two that that candle is the only thing there is. After that I got scared(I'd never had or expected such an experience) and opened my eyes.