YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

breath and surya namaskara b
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Ashtanga YogaMessage format

Posted 2007-07-11 1:50 AM (#91142)
Subject: breath and surya namaskara b

I'm pretty new to yoga, having been practicing nearly daily for less than year, and even though I know that the ultimate answer to this question is "practice," I'm hoping others can share some insights that will help me to practice more effectively. Here's the issue:

When moving from downdog into warrior 1, I can't regulate the inhale to last through the completion of the pose. Instead, I end up exhaling when I've reached the pose and so have to take an extra breath before cartwheeling down.

Suggestions? Tips?
Thanks in advance.
ali
Top of the page Bottom of the page

Posted 2007-07-11 3:06 AM (#91144 - in reply to #91142)
Subject: RE: breath and surya namaskara b

Hi Ali,

I've roamed into foreign waters here in the Ashtanga forum. And you may get a reply of a different nature from another instructor or practitioner.

I have two thoughts. The first thought is that this thing you mention is a "so what". Not a big deal. Take a breath. There's no great sin to that nor is there incredible gain from it's opposite. And of course work toward it as Surya Namaskar is as it is for reasons.