YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Bikram/Ashtanga comparison
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Ashtanga YogaMessage format

jpg
Posted 2007-06-27 11:03 AM (#90225)
Subject: Bikram/Ashtanga comparison

I'm very new to Yoga and am trying to weigh the pros and cons of these two practices. I started doing the David Swenson 45 minute routine and enjoyed it. I then began Bikram and have been doing it twice a week for the last two months. I've lost weight and my (running damaged) back feels great. I'm trying to decide whether to pick between these two or do both. Does anyone have any comments on the following questions:

1. After finishing the 45 minute Ashtanga I would always feel a wonderful "buzz". After a 90 minute Bikram session I just want to get out of the room. Why is that? I want to enjoy the practice I choose.

2. I would love to eliminate my weight lifting, which I've been doing for almost 30 years, and am sick of. Bikram, however, seems to concentrate much less on the upper body than does Ashtanga. I want to keep my upper body toned. So Ashtanga seems to be the way to go here. Does anyone have any experience completely eliminating weights in favor of Ashtanga and, if so, what were the results?

3. I love the frequent Bikram backbends and think it has really helped my sore back. Why is the Ashtanga primary series so imbalanced in favor of forward bends?