YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Guidelines for home practice?
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Iyengar YogaMessage format

karmann
Posted 2007-04-23 4:14 PM (#84004)
Subject: Guidelines for home practice?

I'm hoping to take more advantage of the didactic nature of Iyengar yoga- so if any of you have any thoughts about this, please chime in. First I'll copy a bit of my history from a previous post:

I am a 46 year old woman, in decent physical shape. I have been doing yoga regularly for four years now (off and on before that.) Last summer and fall I took Level 1 Iyengar yoga lessons from a certified teacher. Because she is not in my area year-round, I have to wait until May to resume classes. Per my teacher, I will be in Level 2 this time around.

I go to two regular (generic style of hatha yoga, for lack of a better description) classes per week. And in another month I will be going back to my Iyengar instructor for a 2 hour class once a week (with possibly a level 1 class now and then if she has cancellations.) When I restart with the Iyengar, I will probably drop my regular classes to one per week.

I can (and do) dedicate 3 hours per week of home practice on top of my classes. Any ideas as to how I might optimize the time? I have a fairly flexible work schedule, so I can divide that time up as I see fit. My questions are:

How many days per week and hours per practice? For example I could do 3 one-hour classes or 6 half-hour classes or a combination.