YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Urdhva Dhanurasana, again
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Iyengar YogaMessage format

karmann
Posted 2007-04-15 4:33 PM (#83453)
Subject: Urdhva Dhanurasana, again

A little background- I am a 46 year old woman, in decent physical shape. I have been doing yoga regularly for four years now (off and on before that.) Last summer and fall I took Level 1 Iyengar yoga lessons from a certified teacher. Because she is not in my area year-round, I have to wait until May to resume classes. Per my teacher, I will be in Level 2 this time around.

I will also mention that in my early teens, I had a bit of gymnastics training. Nothing fancy, but I was able to do handstands, back and front walk-overs and a decent backbend. I have retained the ability to do handstands (though not of my teacher's liking : she abruptly informed me that my "banana" handstands would have to go in favor of close-to-the-wall upright ones.) Anyway, I don’t mention this history because I expect I should be able to do what I did at age 12; just to say that at one time I had the physical capability.

However, no matter how much I’ve tried over the past two years I cannot do Urdhva Dhanurasana. I can barely push myself up for a breath or two and I cannot straighten my arms. And if I’m not using blocks under my hands, my heels come right up off the floor to give me enough arch, I guess; I cannot help it.