YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

so how does pilates 'work'?
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Fitness -> PilatesMessage format

jms137
Posted 2007-04-08 1:15 PM (#82736)
Subject: so how does pilates 'work'?

Hi there,

I'm a complete beginner. I am trying to start some Pilates because my core muscles are weak as jelly and I'm sick of getting back twinges and spasms whenever I lean over a little for longer than a little while. Unfortunately I'm working out in China and there is no Pilates class or tutor here. All I have is: Jonathon Urla's 'Pilates in the City' beginner and intermediate dvd, Miranda Bass's pilates book and an exercise mat.

I've done the dvd a few times and find Pilates extremely weird. At first I cannot understand how it builds any strength whatsoever.

My question is that I find plenty of sites and books on amazon which are full of routines and photos, but which book can explain exactly what is happening? How does Pilates work? What is it doing to me? Miranda's book explains the moves well but doesnt go deep into explaining the theory.