YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

I need to confess
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Yoga TeachersMessage format

shalamOM
Posted 2007-03-26 12:11 PM (#81229)
Subject: I need to confess

There has been something on my mind lately and I feel I need to talk about it. I'm a forty something yoga instructor who has been teaching for many many years, but I don't have certification. There have been many times where I've met younger, more attractive yoga instuctors and have felt kind of jealous. Yes, I'm ashamed to admit it. To make myself feel better about these attractive young instructors I tell myself (and sometimes colleagues) that they don't even have the right certification (even though I don't even have certification) or that they aren't knowlegeable about yogic tradition.

One new instructor at our studio is a beautiful young girl and I had already decided that she was just jumping on the yoga trend bandwagon. I refused to give her more than one class because I thought she was too flexible to teach older people. Recently I found out that she has a degree in sports medicine, has been doing yoga for 10 years and volunteers her time free of charge to those who can't afford yoga. I feel so ashamed....Here I've been holding this teacher back because I've been jealous and insecure and she's probably more qualified than even I am.