YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

When students hit on you
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Yoga TeachersMessage format

SiriusSpirit
Posted 2006-10-07 3:04 PM (#66565)
Subject: When students hit on you

As a student, I would often notice older male students being taken by our female teacher, and I would see how attached they would often get to her. They'd hang around after class, sit real close to her during class, and so on.
As a teacher, have you dealt with students hitting on you? How did you handle it? How did you feel about it in terms of what did it make you think or wonder or question?
Have you ever had anyone in your class who you felt was there to "just LOOK?" (You know, guys are being told if they want to find women, go to yoga -- that's where all the "chicks" are.)
I know it's common in any teacher-student relationship for "crushes" to occur. It's just that this stuff wasn't covered in yoga teacher training!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
mishoga
Posted 2006-10-07 3:12 PM (#66566 - in reply to #66565)
Subject: RE: When students hit on you

Expert Yogi

Sirius, I've had this happen to me but we did go over this during TT. Exactly how to handle situations,....... well, every situation is unique. Hard to prepare you for all.