YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

New to Pilates please help
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Fitness -> PilatesMessage format

chignonymous
Posted 2004-12-30 8:37 PM (#14148)
Subject: New to Pilates please help

Hello. I'm new to pilates and I seem to have most problem with my neck. Is this because I'm doing the exercises wrongly or because my neck is weak? Should I do the version for people with delicate necks first? And if so, will I still be able to benefit from the workout and see results? Would I eventually be able to progress beyond having to do the delicate neck version? Should I maybe go for 1 or 2 sessions with a pilates instructor before I try to do the exercises at home?

Phew..that's all the questions folks. Thanks everyone
Top of the page Bottom of the page
bliss
Posted 2005-01-02 8:34 AM (#14217 - in reply to #14148)
Subject: RE: New to Pilates please help

your deep neck flexor muscles are probably weak....is it when you do curl-ups (sit ups)? Have you had a neck injury? It is definately always worth having several one on ones with pilates to ensure you have the correct technique....otherwise you may as well join a gym and do what i call fitness pilates....it always shocks me when people come to out studio and say they've been doing pilates for a year...and they show me how they move their body and they havnt a clue....
Go to someone experienced...failing that you could have your neck checked by a good osteopath......
bliss
tourist