YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Slight cult-y vibe to Bikram
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

grushka
Posted 2005-04-03 8:36 PM (#21023)
Subject: Slight cult-y vibe to Bikram

Hey, my first post.

I've been doing Bikram for a few months now, couple times a week. I've done some Ashtanga before (just and some hatha classes at the gym. I also do poses from "The Yoga Bible" at home. My point is that I am hardly experienced at yoga, but I have seen a few different types.

Anyway, I enjoy Bikram, almost in spite of myself. I say in spite because it does get a little boring to do the exact same routine. And some of the poses are pretty uninteresting, compared to all that's out there.

Also, the little culty things kind of annoy me - actually, they're too transparent to be really anoying, but... like how all the instructors call you by name. Like how they say not to use the towel in certain poses, but to use it in others (come on, it's totally arbitrary). Aso the trendy vibe that pervades the whole thing is kinda silly.

But aside from that, I DO feel great after Bikram, all the way through the next day. Also, while I believed the cardiovascular claims to be wrong - thinking it was simply the heat rasing the heart rate - I found that I can now run 5-6 miles on the treadmill without getting winded. Much more than before.

I just don't get the same feeling after ashtanga.

So, I guess I'll be sticking with the Bikram for a while.

Top of the page Bottom of the page