YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Beginner
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

LauraBelle
Posted 2004-10-26 8:00 PM (#11243)
Subject: Beginner

I'm a student at UMass Amherst and my roommate and I were thinking of taking a Bikram Yoga class in Amherst. Both of us have only taken one yoga class before so I was wondering if Bikram might be too difficult for us. Also, what kinds of foods should we eat before class and how often would you recommend going to class at the beginning? I've heard a lot of people say that they've lost weight doing Bikram Yoga but do you gain the weight back if you stop doing it? I run 3 to 5 miles 5 days a week and my roommate doesn't work out but she burns calories by being high strung Any advice?
Top of the page Bottom of the page

Posted 2004-10-26 8:41 PM (#11244 - in reply to #11243)
Subject: RE: Beginner

Go for it...it's NOT like the single yoga you've sampled. Eat light before you go to class-2-4 hours before. Drink a gal. of water a day prior to going and quit drinking 2-4 hours before you go to class. It's very difficult--it's hot, it hurts, and the teachers are nazis. They'll harass you if you have to leave during the class to cool off or go to the bathroom. It's a miserable time. Bikram and the teachers will tell you to go every day for 60 straight days claiming it'll get you in the best shape you've ever been in.