YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

organ movements
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Yoga for BeginnersMessage format

livia
Posted 2010-03-07 11:39 AM (#121785)
Subject: organ movements

HI
I am new to this forum. I have been practicing yoga on and off for the past 10 years, therefore, I consider myself a beginner. I have always practiced at home.

My question is has anyone experienced any organ movements during yoga practice. I often experience my liver or my center organs moving as I do standing bends. Is this normal? Has anyone experienced this or anything similar?

Thanks
Livia
Top of the page Bottom of the page

Posted 2010-03-08 2:31 PM (#121794 - in reply to #121785)
Subject: Re: organ movements

Hello Livia,

Generally speaking, abdominal viscera are supported in their appropriate place. There is a layer or fold of tissue within the body called "mesentary" which secures organs to the inner body wall. I suppose if that were damaged then organs might move.

It is possible for there to be some micro-movement and that might be felt by a sensitive practitioner. They would move a bit as that which secures them would move. Hopefully not much :-)
vibes
Posted 2010-03-08 7:38 PM (#121799 - in reply to #121785)

Extreme Veteran

Organs move all the time. If they didnt you wouldnt be around for long. Some are more aware of them then others. If you turn your body left, stabilising the left side of the body, the liver moves left etc.
Cyndi