YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

sitting meditation
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Meditation -> General MeditationMessage format

hippogriff
Posted 2005-10-16 5:22 PM (#34513)
Subject: sitting meditation

Good day all,

I'm a newbie to meditation. I have been trying the sitting meditation but cant seem to get a position where my body is relaxed. Either my legs have tension or my back has tension. Probably because I'm leaning too far forward or too far back. I just cant figure out how to get totaly comfortable while sitting crosslegged.

Any tips or tricks sure would be appreciated.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
anya sharvani
Posted 2005-10-16 7:51 PM (#34515 - in reply to #34513)
Subject: RE: sitting meditation

I like to kneel, sitting on a block. works for me, hope it helps you.

tourist
Posted 2005-10-16 9:12 PM (#34520 - in reply to #34513)

Expert Yogi

Well, the TM (Transcendental Meditation) people just sit in a straight backed chair. Hatha yogis would say you need to prepare your body with asana and pranayama before even starting meditation because you can't clear your mind if your body is aching. Meditation is not as simple as it looks
GreenJello
Posted 2005-10-16 9:43 PM (#34523 - in reply to #34520)

tourist - 2005-10-16 9:12 PMHatha yogis would say you need to prepare your body with asana and pranayama before even starting meditation because you can't clear your mind if your body is aching. Meditation is not as simple as it looks